Chairman’s Award

The AAPG Foundation Chairman’s Award is the first award established by the Foundation. It is to be given to recognize persons who have made extraordinary contributions (monetary or service) to the AAPG Foundation, and also to call attention to the role and value of the Foundation.

A selection committee consisting of the Chairman of Trustees and the Trustee Associates and the other appointed person by the Trustee Chair identifies and recommends appropriate recipients to them for final approval, based on the individual’s merits and service to the Foundation. Although it is possible that the award will be given each year, there is no requirement that it must be an annual award.

The recipient need not be a living person, as the Trustees have declared that the award can also be made posthumously. Presentation should be made at a Trustee Associate’s meeting or the Chairmen’s Reception at the annual meeting.


2013 • Richard Baile

2012 • Herbert G. Davis

2011 • William E. “Bill” Crain

2010 • David Scott Holland

2009 • John W. Shelton

2008 • Jack C. Threet

2007 • Eugene F. Reid

2006 • Robert W. Esser

2005 • Fred A. Dix, Jr.

2004 • Lawrence W. Funkhouser

2003 • Hugh Looney

2002 • Merrill W. Haas

2001 • James E. Wilson

2000 • L. Austin Weeks

1999 • Michel T. Halbouty