Teacher of the Year (K-12)

  • TOTY

    Teacher of the Year 2013

    Chris Bolhuis, ninth grade earth science teacher at Hudsonville Freshman Campus in Hudsonville, Mich.

  • Applications and nominations for the 2019 Teacher of the Year (TOTY) Award will be accepted starting August 31st. The TOTY award, given by the American Association for Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Foundation, will once again be granted to a K-12 teacher within the United States who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the field of geoscience education.

    Six teachers across the country will be identified as finalists, each from one of six U.S. geographic regions (Pacific, Rocky Mountain, Mid-Continent, Southwest, Gulf Coast, and Eastern). After final nominations are decided, the TOTY Committee will convene to pick the final winner of the 2019 Teacher of the Year Award. The runner-up section finalists will each receive an honorable mention and a $500 cash award for their nomination.

    The final TOTY winner will receive a $6,000 award which will be presented to the individual at the AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition (ACE). The award includes $3,000 for school use under the teacher's supervision for educational purposes and $3,000 for personal use by the teacher. The winner will also receive an expense paid trip for two to ACE to receive the award. Check out the links below for important information about guidelines, deadlines, how to nominate and/or apply! Application deadline is February 1, 2019.