Weeks Medal

The L. Austin Weeks Memorial Medal is given in recognition for extraordinary philanthropy and service directed to advance the mission of the AAPG Foundation. The Foundation award honors the late L. Austin Weeks, whose philanthropic legacy set an exemplary standard.

The award was established in 2008; it is the Foundation’s highest award. The medal may be given annually although it is not a requirement that it be an annual award. The recipient must be living at the time of selection. The Board of Trustees and the Executive Director will identify and recommend recipients based on the individual’s merits and service to the Foundation.


Archie 2012 • William J. Barrett

Jack Three 2011 • Jack C. Threet

2010 • Larry Funkhouser

2009 • T. Boone Pickens

2008 • Marta Weeks