Awarding Inspirational Excellence In The Classroom

The Inspirational Geoscience Educator Award honors college and university professors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the field of geoscience education. Each year, one deserving nominee is presented a $6,000 award and commemorative plaque.

Inspirational Geoscience Educator Award

If you know a geoscience professor who has inspired students to love geoscience and motivated them to pursue geological careers, honor them with a nomination.

Important: Nominee must be within ten years of their initial tenure track appointment at the time of nomination. Please read the requirements and guidelines before submitting nomination.


Past Winners

Year Receipient School
2023 Davide Oppo, Ph.D. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
2022 Ahmed Ismail, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Geophysics, Oklahoma State University
2021 Clemencia Gomez Gonzalez, Ph.D. Professor of Geosciences, Universidad Nacional de Colombia
2020 Bradford R. Burton, Ph.D., PGEO. Associate Professor and Rady Chair in Petroleum Geology, Western Colorado University
2019 Brett Carpenter, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma
2018 Lauren Birgenheier, Ph.D. Geoscience Professor, University of Utah, Utah
2017 Hendratta Ali, Ph.D. Geosciences Professor, Fort Hays State University, Kansas
2016 Stephen Bend, Ph.D. P.GEO. Geology Professor, University of Regina, Saskatchewan
2015 Joseph Satterfield, Ph.D. Geology Professor, Angelo State University
2014 Robert H. Goldstein, Ph.D. Associate Dean of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Professor, University of Kansas
2013 James P. Evans, Ph.D. Professor, Structural Geology, Utah State University College of Science, Utah
2012 Grant Wach, Ph.D. Professor of Petroleum Geoscience, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

We Need Your Help!

Your generosity helps us honor these great professors. Support the Inspirational Geosciences Educator Award with your donation today.




To contact a representative about the Inspirational Geosciences Educator Award, call 918-560-9426 or email us below.