Past Winners

Teacher of the Year Award winners are honored at the AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition Chairman’s Reception each year. Past winners include:

Year Receipient School
2021 Sabrina Ewald Centennial High School, Frisco, Texas
2020 Rebekah Kienenberger Arete Preparatory Academy, Gilbert, Ariz.
2019 Laura Branch Ernest Righetti High School in Santa Maria, Calif.
2018 Debbie Morgan South Sevier High School in Monroe, Utah.
2017 Julie Mitchell Erie High School in Erie Colo.
2016 Karen Waterbury St. Mary's Catholic School, Mount Carmel, Ill.
2015 Jacqueline Bath ThunderRidge High School, Littleton, Colo.
2014 Heather McArdle Mahopac High School Mahopac, N.Y.
2013 Chris Bolhuis Hudsonville Freshman Campus, Hudsonville, Michigan
2012 Jonna Gentry Green Mountain High School, Lakewood, CO
2011 Sharon Milito Patrick Henry Elementary, Colorado Springs, CO
2010 L. Stef Paramoure Oak Run Middle School, New Braunfels, TX
2009 Ty Robinson Provo High School, Provo, UT
2008 Mary Fitts Sierra Middle School, Parker, CO
2007 Ryan Henry Tulsa Street School, Tulsa, OK
2006 James Schulz Helena High School, Helena, MT
2005 Marilyn Bachman Montecito Union School, Santa Barbara, CA
2004 Mike Fillipow Polytechnic High School, Long Beach, CA
2003 Amy J. John BseBitAi Middle School, Shiprock, NM
2002 Kevin Leineweber McCutcheon High School, Lafayette, IN
2001 John McKinney Castle Rock Middle School, Castle Rock, CO
2000 Peggy Lubchenco La Colina Junior High School, Santa Barbara, CA
1999 Herbert Turner Waynesville Middle School, Waynesville, MO
1998 No award given
1997 No award given
1996 Jane Justus Frazier Natomas High School, Sacramento, CA

Hear From Our Winners

IMAGE 2021 | Denver, Colorado and Online


Sabrina receives AAPG Foundation's Teacher of the Year Award at the IMAGE event on September 27, 2021.


To contact a representative about the Teacher of the Year Award, email us below.